VECV's Vinod Aggarwal assigned as SIAM president


The Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) appointed Vinod Aggarwal, Managing Director of Volvo Eicher Commercial Vehicles as its new president for 2022-23.

Aggarwal, who was the Vice President of SIAM succeeds Kenichi Ayukawa, Executive Vice Chairman & Whole Time Director, Maruti Suzuki India.

The election for new office bearers was conducted during the Executive Committee Meeting Thursday, which was held after SIAM’s Annual General Meeting.

After taking over as SIAM President, Mr Aggarwal said, “The Indian automotive industry is currently at a very exciting juncture. The industry is witnessing rapid adoption and focus on connectivity, e-mobility and alternate fuels, and other technological advancements, to provide the consumers with not just modern, but also safe and environment friendly vehicles.”

The members of SIAM also elected Shailesh Chandra, Managing Director, Tata Motors Passenger Vehicles and Tata Passenger Electric Mobility as the Vice President of SIAM for 2022-23.

Satyakam Arya, CEO & MD, Daimler India Commercial Vehicles was elected as the Treasurer of SIAM for 2022-23.